Raver of the Month: Captain Colin

Standard

Shiver me timbers – it’s Captain Colin! An ol’ skool pleasure pirate and veteran of North America’s rave scene,  C.C. has graced many a rave and then some. From Seattle to Sault Ste. Marie, Captain Colin has seen plenty of action. Frankenräver conducted a 1 on 1 video interview with the Captain to discuss the vicissitudes of underground culture, vintage gear and what keeps him going after all these years. 

F: Greetings Cap’n!

C.C: Greetings…greetings n love.

F: Greetings n love on this gorgeous, sunny, spring not summer yet but I don’t know what the fuck I am kind of day…

C.C: We’ll call it spring.

F: Yeah, we’ll call it spring. And I’ve gotta ask you man, can you tell me what inspires you to keep raving after all these years?

C.C: Well, I mean it’s all a question of how you determine a rave. I like to party with adults and we like to party and chill ‘til morning.

F: Cuz that’s what adults do, right?

C.C: Exactly. In essence we are still raving but not with the traditional rave characteristics. 

F: Yeah, it’s kinda like being a kid with perks.

C.C: Yes. What inspires me to keep going is the underground party scene in Toronto just keeps getting better and better. And the caliber of all of the people throwing parties keeps improving, the music coming out is just revolutionary and so it’s more fabulous than ever, the underground party scene in Toronto.

F: In your opinion, what’s the main difference between raving in the 21st century vs. the 90’s?

C.C: Well, Toronto’s got quite a sophisticated party scene. And I think the only place you’re going to find real kind of theoretical full raving is at the underage parties. I guess if we’re just going to look at underground partying because that’s really what I’ve been doing, I guess you could call them raves as well. The biggest difference would be the musical diversity nowadays. Nowadays we’re getting a lot more diverse broken beat music, a lot more diverse rooms. It used to be that it would just be a techno room and maybe another techno room (laughter).

F: Yeah…

C.C: Often we got a drum and bass room and a techno room but now we’re just getting a lot more variation. And as well a lot of the producers are doing what I like to do at my parties which is book different styles of music throughout the evening so that flows nicely together as one piece. 

F: Which parties do you promote currently?

C.C: Currently I promote the parties I throw, Bassgator’s parties. We throw a couple of parties each year, big and spectacular and the next one will be in June. As well, a bit of promoting the CirQlar parties which is a blending of epic party situations; graphics, visuals, big deco artists as well as circus performances. They bring in top notch music, epic circus performances, they’re fabulous but you couldn’t really call them a rave cuz they usually end at like 4 a.m. but they’re pretty raving ‘til then (laughter). Their parties are fabulous. I also always enjoy the Suma Collective’s parties, Promise parties. I also promote for the Make It Funky events which are really quite fabulous and they bring in a lot of great talent.

F: So what encouraged you or led you to explore the psy-trance aspect of raving?

Captain Colin contemplates the horizon…and likes what he sees so far…

C.C: My first introduction to the scene is I went to a New Year’s event and I was just like blown away at how when the event ended, everybody at the venue worked together to get the place stripped and clean and get everybody gone right away. And I realized they have a different scene, they work together on things rather than being consumers of events. My first time partying with the psy-trancers was quite interesting because the party we had went until 6 a.m. and like, 14 of us go back to a beautiful loft place to the afterparty. And within 45 minutes 8 of the 12 people are snuggled up and going to sleep and I had no idea why did I do this…this is an after-nap party I didn’t get it. And so we were out on the back porch loving the sun, and they started waking up and coming back to join us and they weren’t planning on going anywhere; that’s why they’d taken a nap, cuz they weren’t going to go home at noon, they were staying all day. And so they just partied different, more a family vibe.

F: Yes.

C.C: So it’s the community entirely is what drew me into the trance scene. And I listen to some of the world’s best trance DJ’s and get to hear some of the best trance available and that really makes a difference in all these trappy and fabulous demonstrations within their field. It all depends on the DJ. 

F: What were some of the best party experience you had back in the day?

C.C: I’d have to say the raves, the rave at the Science Centre like ’97 I think, just blew our minds. And when we got home, my friend lives right beside the Chinese Community Centre and there was some sort of Chinese celebration day. So we got home and we come out on the rooftop of the balcony/patio looking down and they had like a 40 foot Chinese dragon with about 20 or 25 people inside it dancing around right in front of the house and it was just quite a magical event. 

F: Awwh man, that must have been an amazingly trippy scene! 

C.C: It was quite trippy.

F: Would you say that rave culture has helped to define the person that you are today? I mean, look at you, you’re just…raving on! (laughter)

C.C: I consider myself more of a party enthusiast and that’s because I really enjoy having a good time and where having a good time gets people out, and I enjoy spending time with people where they stay and have a good time…

F: Yes…

C.C: I started throwing parties at the age of like, 14, we opened our first club in northern Ontario. I started throwing my first festivals in ’97. So I’ve been in it since the very beginning. Like as soon as I could I started throwing parties. And now it got to a point in 2001 where the events we were throwing got to such a spectacular level that I went on hiatus, because I decided we’re not going to throw any parties unless they’re big and fantastic and just spectacular. And so now that’s what we’re doing with Bassgators; we’re throwing a couple of parties a year and making it spectacular. By spectacular it’s about taking it to the next level: live drummers. For our one year anniversary we had fireworks, a full-blown fireshow, we’re putting it in the best venues, we’ve been using St. Stephen’s In the Fields church in Kensington Market. We’ve got a rave that runs until half an hour before they start feeding the homeless. And we strip down that church, clean it and have it set so they can feed the homeless and I’m down with the priests. I’m down with the people that run the church because we’re throwing celebrations. I mean it is raving but really they’re celebrations.

F: Tell me Captain, what were some of your favourite fashions from back in those days?

C.C: Back in those days, I’d have to say my favourites were Geek Boutique, Snug and Luscious for the ladies. 

F: Luscious! Mmmm….

C.C:  I’ve seen a number of girls with ol skool Luscious overalls on lately. And been wowing over them until somebody told me hers were a knock-off new remake of them which was a little disappointing. I liked having those ol skool wares still kicking. I’ve got some ol skool Snugs here from (lifts leg to show label) I don’t know when…

 F: Oh yeah

 C.C: ’97 ish.

F: Those are hot baby!

C.C: Have you ever messed around with music production in the past?

C.C: Yeah, I’ve been with music, aggressively from about ’91, actually 1990. I produced in the Sault for 4 years and then my studio moved to Toronto and I would take road trips to Toronto and produce in Toronto til about ’97, at which point I realized that my time had gotten everything connected so that something should have been released, but I realized my time had not come yet so I went on hiatus from production but now I’m making music again. And you can see me perform at the next Bassgators party. 

F: When’s that coming up?

C.C: June 2nd

F: Where?

C.C: The location is soon to be revealed at a later date but it is gonna blow your mind!

F: Ol skool – awesome! Well thanks Colin. It was a pleasure speaking with you and having you share your wonderful experiences with us.

C.C: Well I ‘d like to tell you about what’s happening on our west coast because I went to west coast this summer, I went to Basshouse, I went to Shangri-La, I got to party in Vancouver, see what they’re doing. The west coast has an entirely different sound right now. West coast Canada has some phenomenal producers making an epic, new way of bass music which is not dubstep, but something way more fantastic and fabulous; something tribal, something that people need to start tuning into. So everybody start listening to your Vancouver, your west coast producers B.C. out there, they’re making some really delicious crunk. And it’s really important that your ears hear it cuz you gotta hear the good music and that’s what keeps this going for the parties. 

F: That’s right! Support your local talent folks. Awesome dude (Grips).

C.C: Alright! Thank you. 

Apart from promotion and music production, Captain Colin is a trained masseuse, providing excellent massage therapy in a calm environment with ambient music, essential oils and a mineral altar for maximum vibes. His warm, caring personality and professionalism put me at ease; I felt re-aligned and thoroughly relaxed after his expert treatment. Highly recommended.To book an appointment, e-mail dapadun3@yahoo.ca

Copyright © 2012 Frankie Diamond. All rights reserved. Excerpts of less than 200 words may be published to another site, including a link back to the original article. This article may not be reproduced in its entirety and posted to another site without the express permission of the author

 

Leave a Reply

