Tuned In Mashed Out gets Rave Review

Standard

Last February, I published Tuned In, Mashed Out: Confessions of a Rave Junkie. This e-book chronicles the adventures of rebel raver, G-Fly, during the height of Toronto’s scene in the 90’s, and is available now on Amazon. At one point, I was beginning to wonder whether I’d gone off the deep end by writing this book. Did anyone even care about something that happened over 15 years ago? Nonetheless, I felt this was a story that needed to be told, considering the general lack of exposure for Toronto’s underground past. Then like a burst of brilliant sunshine, I received overwhelmingly positive feedback from satisfied customer, Brian :

5.0 out of 5 stars A PLURfect representation of the rave scene, and the life around it,April 23, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Tuned In, Mashed Out: Confessions of a Rave Junkie (Kindle Edition)

Having leafed through a few self-published books I had low expectations for this $3 novel but the subject matter was compelling so I took the plunge. I was completely unprepared for this enjoyable, earnest, exciting story. I was riveted to Frankie Diamond’s book and blew through it in just 3 sittings, staying up far too late as I read in bed each evening.

I found the book by trawling Amazon’s search engine for the unlikely query “Toronto rave” and was not disappointed. This is the real deal – the truest, most accurate, equally complementary and damning description of the 90s Toronto rave scene I’ve seen yet. Even though the format of the book is a diary her writing flare put me RIGHT THERE in those sweaty clubs and warehouses as she described the manic events each bleary day after. This stirred long-dormant nostalgia from deep within me – the elation of partying with thousands of like-minded people, the resulting family tension, the stresses from that awkward transition from adolescence to adulthood, the feelings of loneliness even while surrounded by friends, but most of all the grand revelation from going to my first rave and realizing I belong there. This all came RUSHING back to me as I read Diamond’s eloquent words; my mouth positively ached from my constant knowing smiles as I progressed.

Diamond pulls no punches here. She never tiptoes, aiming straight for the jugular and exposing her vices and shames for all the world to see. This in and of itself is commendable and adds sobering balance and conflict to all the celebration. She makes it clear that raves are wondrous occasions that mean different things to different people depending on where they come from and the context of their life that week. The rave was either an opportunity or an escape or liability or a necessity. Diamond’s sensitivity and honesty fill the reader with empathy and understanding and you’ll find yourself either cheering her on or mentally screaming to her not to make such an obvious mistake, wondering all the while whether any of us would have chosen any more wisely in her situation.

This is the most touching, relevant, truthful book I’ve read in quite some time. The similarities to other coveted diaries such as Anne Frank’s and Go Ask Alice are obvious and favourable: all autobiographical confessions of a fragile, impressionable soul seeking satisfaction and meaning in crazy times. As a man it was particularly interesting to glimpse the differences and similarities in a woman’s perceptions of that same scene I participated in.

The book is shocking, honest, exciting, and heartwarming. It’s genuinely left me with that rare afterglow I only get from great literature that grants me some fundamental understanding of myself. Like Frankie hitting the afterparty after a great rave I finished the book and immediately longed for more. From the (not too) young to the young-at-heart to parents of adolescents I would recommend this book to anyone sufficiently open-minded and I hope this is only the start of this great writer’s career.

Thanks Brian! Those of you reading this should follow Brian’s example and check it out b4 the success gets too much and I quit writing and go Howard Hughes on your ass. Don’t say I didn’t warn ya…

Tuned In, Mashed Out – available now on Amazon 🙂

http://amazon.com/author/frankiediamond

One response »

Leave a Reply

